“What is the best way to live? How large is God? How are fini te beings related to the infinite? What was God’s purpose in creating the universe? How can we be helpful? These ageless questions can inspire people today just as they have inspired people throughout the ages, linking the human soul to philosophy and to the love of wisdom.”
—Sir John Templeton

The Templeton Prize honors a living person who has made an exceptional contribution to affirming life’s spiritual dimension, whether through insight, discovery, or practical works. Established in 1972 by Sir John Templeton, the Prize aims, in his words, to identify “entrepreneurs of the spirit”—outstanding individuals who have devoted their talents to those aspects of human experience that, even in an age of astonishing scientific advance, remain beyond the reach of scientific explanation. The Prize celebrates no particular faith tradition or notion of God, but rather the quest for progress in humanity’s effort to comprehend the many and diverse manifestations of the Divine.
Men and women of any creed, profession, or national origin may be nominated for the Templeton Prize. The distinguished roster of previous winners includes representatives of Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism. The Prize has been awarded to physicists, theologians, ministers, philanthropists, writers, and reformers, for work that has ranged from the creation of new religious orders and social movements to humanistic scholarship and research about the origins of the universe.
What these remarkable people have shared is a devotion to one or more of the Big Questions at the core of the John Templeton Foundation’s mandate. All have been seekers of wisdom, humbled by the complexity of the human condition but determined to chart a path forward with their ideas and deeds. Some Templeton laureates have demonstrated the transformative power of virtues like love, forgiveness, gratitude, and creativity. Others have provided new insights on scientific questions relating to infinity, ultimate reality, and purpose in the cosmos. Still others have used the tools of the humanities to provide new perspectives on the spiritual dilemmas of modern life. The Prize seeks and encourages breadth of vision, recognizing that human beings take their spiritual bearings from a range of experiences.

About The Prize

Prize Criteria
The qualities sought in a Templeton Prize nominee include creativity and innovation, rigor and impact. The judges seek, above all, a substantial record of achievement that highlights or exemplifies one of the various ways in which human beings express their yearning for spiritual progress. Consideration is given to a nominee’s work as a whole, not just during the year prior to selection. Nominations are especially encouraged in the fields of:



RESEARCH in the human sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences.

SCHOLARSHIP in philosophy, theology, and other areas of the humanities.

PRACTICE including religious leadership, the creation of organizations that edify and inspire, and the development of new schools of thought.

COMMENTARY AND JOURNALISM on matters of religion, virtue, character formation, and the flourishing of the human spirit. These fields do not exhaust the areas in which achievement might qualify for the Templeton Prize, nor is it necessary for a nominee’s work to be confined to just one field.
The Templeton Prize is awarded annually based on the decision of a panel of distinguished judges from various academic disciplines and religious traditions. We seek a diverse pool of worthy candidates and welcome nominations from around the world.

The public at large is encouraged to participate in the nomination process. The Foundation also directly solicits nominations from academic leaders, theologians, scholars, and scientists.

The Prize is a sum in the amount of
£1,000,000 sterling ($2,000,000 USD)